Choose Language arrow_drop_down
Alt text here

Middlesex CCC v Warwickshire CCC: Match Preview

over 8 years ago | Uncategorised

Middlesex head into their sixth match of their LV= County Championship Division One campaign at Lord’s on Sunday as one of only two unbeaten sides in the division, along with reigning champions Yorkshire, who sit just below us in the table. Durham, courtesy of their six wicket victory over Worcestershire this week, have moved past us to the top of the table, although having played a game more than all others in the league.

In opposition over the next four days are Warwickshire, who themselves have had a steady enough start to their campaign, with just one loss themselves in their opening five games, residing in fifth place, fifteen points behind the Seaxes. Led by the vastly experienced Varun Chopra, Warwickshire’s run charge will be led by opener Ian Westwood, who finds himself in majestic early season form, having already hit 486 runs at 54.00, whilst with the ball they threaten throughout their attack, with Boyd Rankin, Rikki Clarke, Jeetan Patel and Keith barker all having more than fifteen wickets to their name this term, all at an average in the twenties.

Middlesex come into the game with form on their side and confidence high, with runs flowing freely from the bat of the returning Nick Compton, who has hit the ground running on his second stint at Lord’s with 355 runs at an average of just under 40 and a magnificent hundred in our last match at the Ageas bowl.

James Harris has slotted into an incredible rhythm this season and has regained the form that we all know he is capable of. With 32 first-class wickets to his name already at just 21.81, he needs just three wickets to go ahead of Durham’s Chris Rushworth to become the country’s leading first-class wicket-taker this season.

Middlesex are pleased to announce the following 14-man squad: James Franklin (captain), Joe Burns, Nick Compton, Neil Dexter, Steven Finn, Nick Gubbins, James Harris, Dawid Malan, Eoin Morgan, Harry Podmore, Ollie Rayner, Sam Robson, Toby Roland-Jones, John Simpson.

Gates open at 10am and play starts at 11am. Tickets can be bought on the gate and cost £17 for adults, £8.50 for over 65s and £5 for under 16s.

Share this post