Choose Language arrow_drop_down
Alt text here

Middlesex's 2015 OSCAs

over 8 years ago | Uncategorised

This year’s OSCA’s (Outstanding Service to Cricket Awards) were held at Merchant Taylors' School on Sunday 12 July and once again were proudly sponsored by Lexus Edgware Road.

Volunteers are crucial to the growth of the game and this event gave Middlesex Cricket the opportunity to invite twelve winners to be rewarded for their invaluable contribution over the last year.

Held during the second day of the Middlesex v Somerset LV=CC game, our winners were treated to a drinks reception ahead of the presentations, followed by a three course lunch and luckily the opportunity to watch some cricket before the rain set in.

The twelve awards compromised of seven ECB, two Middlesex and three Chance to Shine categories. Our county winners of the specific ECB awards will now be nominated for a National ECB OSCA, so we wish all of our nominee’s good luck when they attend this event later on in the year!

2015 Middlesex OSCA Winners

Chance to Shine Awards Chance to Shine Teacher of the Year - Christine Alloway, Alperton School

An award to appreciate the enthusiasm and support shown by one teacher working in partnership with Middlesex and the Chance to Shine Programme.

Chance to Shine Coach of the Year - Gordon Summerfield

Awarded to a coach who goes above and beyond the expectations of their delivery to provide coaching to schools.

Chance to Shine Hub of the Year - Cranford Community College

An award for the Hub that has successfully met its targets and worked with the cricket board to increase and improve participation.

ECB Awards

Officials - Norman Freeman

Awarded to an official who has played a part in increasing the quality of officiating within a Club, League or County.

Leagues - Inthikhab Mazeez and Mohamed Salahudeen

Awarded to recognise the contribution made to increase participation and getting more people playing cricket.

Young Volunteer - Johan De Silva, Highgate CC

Awarded to an individual aged 14-25 that has made a valuable contribution within the game.

NatWest CricketForce - Jim Yorath, Turnham Green and Polytechnic CC

An award to appreciate the efforts of an individual who has proactively supported NWCF, and worked to build a positive future for their club.

Get the Game On - Derek Saunders, Teddington CC

Awarded to highlight the game day contribution that is made by a key volunteer within the club.

Heartbeat of the Club - Peter Jouning, Southgate CC

This award is for that special volunteer that a club needs to survive and couldn’t do without, often carrying out numerous rules behind the scenes.

Lifetime Achievement - Ian Sutherland

Awarded to an individual who has made an outstanding difference to a cricket club, league, board or local cricket community over a significant number of years.

Middlesex Awards

Services to Disability Cricket - Alan Walsh and Gary Horsman, Hackney Learning Trust

Awarded for the dedication and contribution made to support the Disability Cricket Set Up in the county.

Outstanding Contribution to Middlesex Cricket - Craig Smith

An award to honour the time, effort and commitment made by an individual to cricket in Middlesex over a long period of time.

We would like to take this opportunity to once again say thank you to our volunteers, clubs and leagues who ensure that cricket can continue to flourish in Middlesex as well as to Lexus Edgware Road whose support allows this event to continue and grow.

Share this post