Choose Language arrow_drop_down
Alt text here

Jim Yorath scoops CricketForce Award at NatWest OSCAs

A host of current England cricketers including captains Eoin Morgan and Charlotte Edwards turned out in force yesterday to recognise the efforts of grassroots volunteers at the NatWest Outstanding Service to cricket awards (OSCAs).

The event in its 13th year, was staged at Lord’s Cricket Ground and hosted by BBC Radio’s Test Match Special commentator Jonathan Agnew, brought together over 400 people from across the recreational game to celebrate achievements in volunteering roles in twelve different categories.

The list of winners included Jim Yorath from Turnham Green and Polytechnic (TG&P) Cricket Club in Middlesex, who scooped the NatWest CricketForce award.

TG&P’s County Showcase wasn’t just a NWCF project; it also included an asset transfer, undoubtedly saving a club from closure. With no lease, and the clubhouse an unwelcoming environment, Jim recognised the club’s future was at stake.

He project managed the twin goals of gaining a long term lease from the council, and bringing members and the community together.

Whatever the task, Jim led on encouraging members, organising the launch event, producing flyers, drawing up the tasks longlist, recruiting the social membership as well as specialist tradespeople including heating engineers, builders and landscape gardeners.

Everyone at Middlesex would like to congratulate Jim on his achievement.

See below for the full list of winners...

2015 NatWest OSCAs winners:

Get the Game On: Graeme Smith, North Yorkshire South Durham Cricket League, Yorkshire

Also Nominated: Mick Brown: Ashington Cricket Club, Northumberland and Stuart Clarke- Linden Park Cricket Club, Kent.

Heartbeat of the Club: John Spry, Thorverton Cricket Club, Devon

Also nominated: Susan Derben- Taunton Cricket Club, Somerset and Roger Lewis- Solihull Blossomfield, Warwickshire.

League and Boards: Gary Stanley, West Sussex Invitation Cricket League (WSICL) and Sussex Cricket Board                

Also nominated: Stuart Lampitt – Worcestershire Cricket Board Junior Cricket Leagues and Cup Competition and Keith Robson- North East Premier League, Durham.

Lifetime Achiever:  John Gurney, Sandy Cricket Club, Bedfordshire

Also nominated: Tom Boore- Gloucestershire Cricket Board and Bernard Ellis- Farnham Cricket Club, Essex.

NatWest CricketForce:  Jim Yorath, Turnham Green and Polytechnic (TG&P) Cricket Club, Middlesex

Also nominated: Jill Ainscough- Bedfordshire Cricket Club, Bedfordshire and Simon Wood- Brighton and Hove Crescent Cricket Club, Sussex.

Officiating – Umpires and Scorers: John Golding, Berkshire Cricket Officials Association (BCOA)

Also nominated: Graeme Hall- Kent Association of Cricket Officials and Rob Smith- Yorkshire Cricket Board Association of Cricket Officials.

Young Volunteer:  Adam Nichol, Ashington Cricket Club, Northumberland

Also nominated: Ashley Cartwright- Tibberton Cricket Club/ Shropshire County Cricket League and Harry Johnson- Ruddington and Clifton Village Cricket Club, Nottinghamshire.

Outstanding Contribution to Coaching: Alan Hyatt, Kings Heath Cricket Club, Warwickshire

Also nominated: Steve Amison- Bredbury St Marks Cricket Club, Cheshire and Patrick Tonks- Haxey Cricket Club, Lincolnshire.

Coach of the Year: Ed Lee, Ratby Cricket Club, Leicestershire

Also nominated: Phil Lewin- Abbots Langley Cricket Club, Hertfordshire and Saba Nasim- Wanstead Cricket Club, Essex.

Young Coach of the Year: Matt Earl, Kettering Town Cricket Club, Northamptonshire

Also nominated: Joseph Martin- Lancashire and Adam Nichol- Northumberland.

NatWest U19 T20 Blast Club of the Year: Uphill Castle CC, (Castle Thunder), Somerset

Outstanding Contribution to Disability Cricket: Graham Furber, Shropshire

Paying tribute to the winners Matt Dwyer ECB’s Director of Participation and Growth said: “All these winners play such a vital role in ensuring grassroots cricket across England and Wales continues to flourish. These fantastic awards are just one way to recognise their outstanding contribution to cricket and it was a great privilege to meet so many of the hard working volunteers at yesterday’s event. Congratulations to all the winners- you are the unsung heroes of the game and your awards are richly deserved.”

Lee Bailey from NatWest said: “The NatWest OSCAs is an important part of our cricket calendar as it encourages us all stop to recognise and appreciate the just some of the army of hardworking and dedicated volunteers who make cricket possible. This year’s winners are all truly remarkable and selfless people who ensure that cricket can be, and is, enjoyed in their local community and for that we thank them for without their efforts, grassroots cricket would not be the wonderful game that we all enjoy today.”

Now in its thirteen year, the NatWest OSCAs form part of the ECB’s volunteering programme which gives cricket clubs advice on educating, recruiting and rewarding volunteers.

Share this post