Choose Language arrow_drop_down
Alt text here

Middlesex Seven to play in Kia Super League

From a pool of over 200 potential players, the final 90 who will compete in the inaugural edition of the Kia Super League have been confirmed by the England and Wales Cricket Board, which includes seven Middlesex Women's players including Natasha Miles (Lancashire Thunder), Sophia Dunkley, Alex Hartley, Beth Morgan (Surrey Stars), Fran Wilson, Izzy Westbury (Western Storm) and Anna Nicholls (Yorkshire Diamonds).

Each of the Kia Super League teams has today named a playing squad of 15, which comprises three or four England women’s players, three overseas players, two or three England Women’s Academy players, and six or seven players who have been selected through a county talent identification process.

Following the unveiling of where the England women’s players will be based and which overseas players have been signed, today’s announcement reveals where the very best young talent from the England Women’s Academy will be on show this summer, alongside naming six former England players who will feature in the T20 competition.

Arran Brindle, Beth Morgan and Laura Newton, who retired from international duty in 2014, 2011 and 2007 respectively, will bring 330 international caps and a wealth of Ashes and World Cup winners’ experience to the Southern Vipers, Surrey Stars and Lancashire Thunder.  Meanwhile Western Storm will be able to call on 2005 Women’s Ashes winner Rosalie Fairbairn (née Birch), and former England cricketers, left-arm seamer Laura Spragg and wicket-keeper Lauren Griffiths have been included in the  Yorkshire Diamonds and Loughborough Lightning squads.     

Lancashire Thunder have also today announced that their third international signing will be hard-hitting West Indian top-order batsman, Hayley Matthews.  Matthews won the player of the match award for her sparkling 66 off 45 balls during the recent ICC Women’s World Twenty20 final.  She replaces Australia’s Jess Jonassen in the Thunder squad, after the all-rounder was ruled out of through injury.  

ECB Director of England Women’s Cricket, Clare Connor, said: 

“The momentum behind the new Kia Super League continues to gather pace, and today marks another important piece of the jigsaw as we get set for the competition’s launch later this summer.

“The six squads are well balanced and full of quality, talent, youth and experience.  It is excellent that we have been able to attract the likes of Arran Brindle, Beth Morgan and Laura Newton to play in the competition, alongside giving opportunities to exciting fresh faces from our Academy such as Sophie Ecclestone and Sophie Luff.  Having former World Cup winners and Ashes winners involved will not only strengthen the standard of the competition on the field, it will also bring another level of insight and knowledge, which will assist with meeting our overriding objective for the Kia Super League to bridge the gap between domestic and international cricket.     

“With just over three months until the first Kia Super League group match between Yorkshire Diamonds and Loughborough Lightning at Headingley on Saturday 30th July, all six squads are now raring to go.”

Kia Super League 2016 Final Squad Lists

Lancashire Thunder

  1. Kate Cross (EW)
  2. Sarah Taylor (EW) (capt)
  3. Danielle Wyatt (EW)
  4. Sarah Coyte (O)
  5. Deandra Dottin (O)
  6. Hayley Matthews (O)
  7. Sophie Ecclestone (EWA)
  8. Emma Lamb (EWA)
  9. Ellie Threlkeld (EWA)
  10. Natalie Brown
  11. Georgia Holmes
  12. Laura Marshall
  13. Natasha Miles
  14. Laura Newton
  15. Nalisha Patel

Loughborough Lightning

  1. Georgia Elwiss (EW)
  2. Rebecca Grundy (EW)
  3. Amy Jones (EW)
  4. Beth Langston (EW)
  5. Sophie Devine (O)
  6. Ellyse Perry (O)
  7. Dane van Nierkerk (O)
  8. Evelyn Jones (EWA)
  9. Alex MacDonald (EWA)
  10. Georgie Boyce
  11. Thea Brookes
  12. Amy Gauvrit
  13. Lauren Griffiths
  14. Sonia Odedra
  15. Paige Scholfield

Southern Vipers

  1. Charlotte Edwards (EW) (capt)
  2. Natasha Farrant (EW)
  3. Lydia Greenway (EW)
  4. Suzie Bates (O)
  5. Sara McGlashan (O)
  6. Megan Schutt (O)
  7. Georgia Adams (EWA)
  8. Ellen Burt (EWA)
  9. Katie George (EWA)
  10. Arran Brindle
  11. Isabelle Collis
  12. Daisy Gardner
  13. Alice Macleod
  14. Fi Morris
  15. Carla Rudd

Surrey Stars

  1. Tammy Beaumont (EW)
  2. Laura Marsh (EW)
  3. Natalie Sciver (EW) (capt)
  4. Rene Farrell (O)
  5. Marizanne Kapp (O)
  6. Meg Lanning (O)
  7. Sophia Dunkley (EWA)
  8. Alex Hartley (EWA)
  9. Bryony Smith (EWA)
  10. Aylish Cranstone
  11. Grace Gibbs
  12. Cordelia Griffith
  13. Raveena Lakhtaria
  14. Beth Morgan
  15. Kirstie White

Western Storm

  1. Heather Knight (EW) (capt)
  2. Anya Shrubsole (EW)
  3. Fran Wilson (EW)
  4. Lizelle Lee (O)
  5. Rachel Priest (O)
  6. Stafanie Taylor (O)
  7. Freya Davies (EWA)
  8. Sophie Luff (EWA)
  9. Amara Carr
  10. Jodie Dibble
  11. Rosalie Fairbairn
  12. Georgia Hennessy
  13. Sophie Mackenzie
  14. Cait O’Keefe
  15. Izzy Westbury

Yorkshire Diamonds

  1. Katherine Brunt (EW)
  2. Jenny Gunn (EW)
  3. Danielle Hazell (EW)
  4. Lauren Winfield (EW) (capt)
  5. Alex Blackwell (O)
  6. Beth Mooney (O)
  7. Shabnim Ismail (O)
  8. Hollie Armitage (EWA)
  9. Steph Butler (EWA)
  10. Alice Davidson Richards
  11. Teresa Graves
  12. Katie Levick
  13. Anna Nicholls
  14. Laura Spragg
  15. Katie Thompson

All players will receive a standardised match fee for each game that they compete in, plus expenses will be paid to all players throughout the preparation and competition phases.

Share this post