Choose Language arrow_drop_down
Alt text here

Middlesex name thirteen man squad for Sussex RLODC clash

over 6 years ago | Uncategorised

Middlesex have named a thirteen man squad for the visit of Sussex to Lord's tomorrow in the Royal London One-Day Cup, as the team enters a period of eight consecutive white ball fifty over fixtures over the next three weeks.

James Franklin will captain Middlesex against a Sussex side who haven't played a List-A fixture at the Home of Cricket since way back in 2011, when Chris Rogers led Middlesex to a seven wicket victory.

Middlesex's squad includes the hard-hitting Irishman Paul Stirling, talented young all-rounder Ryan Higgins, who hit 83 yesterday against Surrey in a fifty over Second Eleven Trophy clash against Surrey at Purley, Tom Helm, who picked up three wickets in the same match, plus Ravi Patel and James Fuller, who were also in the wickets for the Second Eleven yesterday. All five have yet to appear for the first eleven this term, so will be keen to make an impression if they get their chance in the starting eleven.

Steven Finn and Toby Roland-Jones have both been in blistering form in the Championship so far this season and look set to lead the bowling attack, whilst Nick Gubbins, Sam Robson, Adam Voges and John Simpson are all named in the squad, and head into the match having already hit runs in Middlesex's opening two Championship clashes at the Ageas Bowl last week and earlier this week at Lord's.

Sussex head to the Home of Cricket tomorrow without two of their main seam attack, as both Chris Jordan and Tymal Mills are still in India, in action with their respective IPL franchises, although the visitors have named Ajmal Shahzad and David Wiese within their squad for the Lord’s clash tomorrow, who both return from injury.

Matt Machan, Ollie Robinson and Luke Wells all also miss out tomorrow through injury, leading to Sussex calling nineteen year old all-rounder Jonty Jenner into their squad, who will make his List A debut for Sussex if selected.

Middlesex Squad:

James Franklin (capt)

Steven Finn

James Fuller

Nick Gubbins

Tom Helm

Ryan Higgins

Dawid Malan

Ravi Patel

Sam Robson

Toby Roland-Jones

John Simpson (wicket-keeper)

Paul Stirling

Adam Voges



Share this post