Choose Language arrow_drop_down
Alt text here


The ups and downs of the NatWest t20 Blast were there for all to see this week, when after a dominant performance and win on Thursday against Kent at Richmond, Middlesex then went down to London rivals Surrey at the Oval the following night. Such is the roller-coaster ride that is T20 cricket, where small margins make all the difference between winning and losing.

The nature of playing the tournament in a congested mid-summer block means that you don't even have time to dust yourself down before the next clash comes upon you, and tomorrow Middlesex must pick themselves up for the trip to Taunton, where they'll take on Somerset at the Coopers Associates County Ground.

Middlesex will be keen to enact revenge upon Somerset for the defeat they dished out to McCullum's men at Uxbridge last Sunday, when the West Country men ran out winners by 21-runs, having despatched the Middlesex attack for 207 runs in their 20 overs - a total that proved too large for Middlesex to chase down.

Middlesex can take some encouragement from the fact that a win in Taunton will put them on seven points from seven games played, which puts them on course to repeat last year's qualification from the South Group, given how results have gone to date, and with Somerset sitting below them in the table, on four points, Middlesex will be hopeful of a victory tomorrow afternoon.

They will be heading into the clash however without both Dawid Malan and Toby Roland-Jones, who will be departing the squad, to join up with the England Test squad ahead of next week's third Test against South Africa at the Kia Oval. Also missing is Paul Stirling, who picked up an injury at the Kia Oval last night.

Into the squad come George Scott, Tom Barber, Nick Gubbins and Stephen Eskinazi, who are all in contention for selection tomorrow afternoon, with England departures and injuries opening the door.

Somerset have named the following fifteen man squad for the clash with Middlesex..

Allenby, Myburgh, Gregory, Trego, Hose, Hildreth, Leask, Anderson, van der Merwe, Davies, Banton, C Overton, Davey, Groenewald, Waller.

Middlesex have named the following fourteen-man squad for the trip to Taunton...

Brendon McCullum (capt)

Tom Barber

Stephen Eskinazi

Steven Finn

James Franklin

Nick Gubbins

Tom Helm

Ryan Higgins

Eoin Morgan

Ravi Patel

George Scott

John Simpson (wk)

Tim Southee

Nathan Sowter

Share this post