Choose Language arrow_drop_down
Alt text here


Middlesex Head Coach Stuart Law has named a squad of fifteen for this week’s latest four-day encounter, when group leaders Gloucestershire come to Lord’s in round five of the County Championship

Middlesex will be hoping a return to Lord’s will see them bounce back to winning ways after a disappointing away trip to Taunton, and they’ll be looking to replicate their performance in the victory over Surrey two weeks ago to get things back on track. They’ll need to be at their best against a good Gloucestershire side and will need another solid performance to pick up the points.

Against Somerset, Middlesex dominated for large parts of the opening two days, only for another disastrous session with the bat on day three saw the hosts grasp the initiative and take control of the game.

Law names an attack laden with pace options, with James Harris added to an already strong seam attack, having returned from his short term loan spell at Glamorgan.

Harris joins Murtagh, Finn, Helm, Roland-Jones, Bamber and Andersson in the squad, giving Law plenty of options in his pace battery.

Both Luke Hollman and Thilan Walallawita provide the frontline spin options for Middlesex, with support also available elsewhere.

Law will be looking for both Robbie White and Sam Robson to continue their promising starts to the season, but will be hoping that others can find their form and weigh in with much needed runs. There have been glimpses of form elsewhere, but Law has called for more consistency from his batting ranks and with points much needed, there’s never been a better time.

Gloucestershire arrive at Lord’s with former Middlesex men George Scott, Ryan Higgins and Tom Lace in their squad, and all will be looking to put on a good show at the Home of Cricket against their former employers.

Middlesex’s fifteen man squad is as follows:

Peter Handscomb (c)

Martin Andersson

Ethan Bamber

Steven Finn

Nick Gubbins

James Harris

Tom Helm

Max Holden

Luke Hollman

Tim Murtagh

Sam Robson

Toby Roland-Jones

John Simpson (wk)

Thilan Wallalawita

Robbie White

Share this post