Choose Language arrow_drop_down
Alt text here



Middlesex Head Coach Stuart Law has named a squad of fourteen for tomorrow evening’s Vitality Blast South Group clash against Gloucestershire at Radlett, with his side looking to secure back to back victories in the competition, having beaten Hampshire by three wickets last night.

Law included young batsman Joe Cracknell in his starting eleven last night, who replaced Max Holden at number three, and it was a decision that ultimately played a huge part in deciding the result of the game, as the youngster bludgeoned a classy 77 off just 43 balls and featured in a record fourth wicket partnership of 122 with John Simpson.

Cracknell’s knock, and an equally brilliant 62 from Simpson, were the highlights of the Middlesex innings yesterday, and after failures from the senior men at the top of the order, Law will be hoping that there’ll be more to come from his power hitters up top to ensure Middlesex can build a build total against a strong Gloucestershire outfit. Sam Robson is added to the batting ranks for tomorrow, having recently hit runs for the Second Eleven in the short format of the game.

There is only one change to the bowling ranks, with senior statesman Tim Murtagh added to the squad, having recovered from an elbow injury that has recently kept him on the side-lines.

A win tomorrow for Middlesex will see them fly up the table, potentially to as high as fourth place in the group, and would give them just the confidence boost they need ahead of another tricky clash in Cardiff on Friday night against Glamorgan. The squad will travel half way down to Cardiff after the clash at Radlett, to ease their travel requirements on Friday’s match-day.

With fixtures coming thick and fast, momentum is so important in the short format of the game, and back to back wins for Middlesex at Radlett this week would set them up really well for what comes next in the competition.

Gloucestershire’s record to date is mirroring that of Middlesex, with one victory and two losses from their three games played, so they too will be looking to get back to winning ways tomorrow.

Middlesex’s fourteen man squad is as follows:

Eoin Morgan (captain)

Ethan Bamber

Joe Cracknell

Blake Cullen

Stephen Eskinazi

Steven Finn

Chris Green

Nick Gubbins

Luke Hollman

Tim Murtagh

Sam Robson

John Simpson (wicket-keeper)

Nathan Sowter

Paul Stirling

Share this post

Related fixture

Thu 17 June
Vitality Blast - South
Radlett Cricket Club
Start Time: 17:30
Duration: 1 day

Middlesex Middlesex
Gloucestershire Gloucestershire

Gloucestershire won by 2 runs (DLS method)