Choose Language arrow_drop_down
Alt text here



On Friday 30th July 2021 at the NPL Ground, in Teddington, a Middlesex Women Select XI will go head-to-head with Jersey Women for the inaugural Brooks Macdonald Cup, in the first of what is hoped to become an annual T20 fixture between the two sides.

Early in the first Covid lockdown, in April 2020, the Club announced an exciting new strategic partnership between Middlesex Women and Jersey Cricket, that both organisations hoped would enable them to harness their combined expertise and resources to create innovative programmes that pushed the boundaries of female cricket talent development.

Covid lockdowns and restrictions may have put many of those initial plans on hold, although both sides did manage to take part in a training camp in late May/early June this year, when Jersey sent four players over to join Middlesex Women’s Under 18’s and the Sunrisers Academy to a dedicated training and S&C camp.

With the deadline of 19th July for easing restrictions now behind us, the partnership can evolve further, and later this week the whole of the Jersey Women’s squad will travel to England, to compete in two days of competitive cricket, first on Thursday, against a Sunrisers EPP squad and a Middlesex Women’s Select XI side in a round robin tournament of T20 cricket at the NPL ground in Teddington, and then on Friday, in a showpiece T20 game between Middlesex Women and Jersey Women at the same venue for the Brooks Macdonald Trophy.

Brooks Macdonald have been a Principal and Major sponsor of Middlesex Cricket since 2012, and throughout that time have been committed to helping the Club develop Women and Girls cricket within Middlesex. With an office in Jersey, the Wealth Management Company also have sponsorship ties to Jersey Cricket, and their links between the two organisations and commitment to helping the game develop has been key to helping the partnership evolve to this point.

Middlesex Cricket’s Head of Women’s Cricket, Kari Carswell commented:

“The opportunity to host Jersey and the Sunrisers EPP over the course of 2 days is such a fantastic opportunity for all 3 squads to play lots of competitive cricket.

“From a Middlesex point of view we’ve put together a team from our various squads and players might be playing a different role to what they are used to, but that will be a great learning experience for them.

“Brooks Macdonald are wonderful supporters of Middlesex CCC and we are hoping we can put on a great spectacle for them, it should be two days of exciting cricket.”

Brooks Macdonald CEO, Andrew Shephard, commented:

“It’s brilliant to see the Middlesex and Jersey Ladies teams coming together to take part in the first ever Brooks Macdonald Cup! It’s a clear signal of our belief that cricket plays an overwhelmingly positive role in promoting the talent and capabilities of women - something we aspire to within our Group too.

"We are proud of both our long running relationship with Middlesex Cricket and our recent sponsorship of Jersey Cricket, and we wish both teams the very best of luck for this friendly competition.”

Fans can keep across the progress of all matches by following Middlesex Women on Twitter at @MiddxCCCWomen.

Middlesex Women’s Select XI squad for Thursday 29th July round-robin tournament:

Issie Davies

Gayatri Gole

Mia Hobbs

Iqraa Hussain (wk)

Natasha Miles

Sonali Patel

Vedanshree Patel

Riva Pindoria

Lucy Porter

Hannah Stapleton

Hannah Taylor-Yeates

Lauren Turner

Sunrisers EPP squad for Thursday 29th July round-robin tournament:

Emma Thompson (wk) - Norfolk

May Drinkell - Norfolk

Imogen Sidhu - Suffolk

Annabelle Woodward - Huntingdonshire

Madeline Welham - Cambridgeshire

Freya Stewart-Miles -Norfolk

Mabel Reid - Hertfordshire

Prisha Bedi - Essex

Evie Booker - Suffolk

Bella Johnson - Essex

Issy James - Cambridgeshire

Hannah Davis - Bucks

April Herathge - Norfolk

Middlesex Women’s Select XI squad for Friday 30th’s Brooks Macdonald Cup clash:

Issie Davies

Gayatri Gole

Iqraa Hussain (wk)

Tash Miles

Sonali Patel

Riva Pindoria

Lucy Porter

Hannah Stapleton

Amu Surenkumar

Hannah Taylor-Yeates

Lauren Turner

Jersey Cricket Women’s squad for both match-days:

Chloe Greechan (c)

Charlie Miles

Maria Da Rocha

Flo Copley

Trinity Smith

Georgia Mallet

Effie Bowley

Lily Greig

Flo Tanguy

Analise Merritt

Erin Gouge

Grace Wetherall

Erin Duffy

Mia Maguire

Share this post