Choose Language arrow_drop_down
Alt text here


3 months ago | Community

The 2022 Derick Morgan League final took place on Sunday 4 September, with West/South Division winners Ickenham hosting North/East Division champions Hampstead. The visiting captain called correctly at the toss and had no hesitation in choosing to bat.

Hampstead started the brighter of the two, racing to 19 off 3 overs before they were pegged back by two wickets in consecutive balls. Whilst they were able to recover and put a couple of really good partnerships together, a tight display of bowling and some brave and tenacious fielding meant the visitors were restricted to 94/6 from their 20 overs.

In response, Ickenham came flying out the traps in the second innings, with two all run fours in the first over. Opening batter Simmonds played a particularly aggressive knock, being quick to pounce on anything that was slightly too straight, with some excellent shots over the infield on the legside.

In the end, the hosts that prevailed, with the rapid run rate continuing throughout, as they chased the 95 required in the tenth over to complete a commanding ten wicket victory. And so, after a quick presentation, it was left to Ickenham captain Leadbetter to proudly raise the Derick Morgan League Trophy and bring the curtain down on the competition for this season.

Middlesex Cricket Participation Manager, Dan Reynolds, said: “Although congratulations must go to Ickenham on a thoroughly deserved win, it’s easy to forget that today is simply the culmination of a long season and for both teams to make the final is a great achievement in itself! The Derick Morgan League has been a great competition this year and we hope it will continue to grow in years to come.”

Share this post