Choose Language arrow_drop_down
Alt text here


Squad and Preview ahead of Leicestershire clash at Grace Road

Middlesex make a return to County Championship action tomorrow when they’ll play the first of two back to back away clashes, at Leicestershire’s Grace Road this week, before travelling down to Canterbury next week to take on Kent in a day/night floodlit clash.

Head Coach Richard Scott has named a thirteen-man squad for the trip to Grace Road to take on Leicestershire, with regular club captain Dawid Malan at the helm, who will make his fourth Championship appearance of the campaign having missed the club’s opening two clashes against Northants and Derbyshire earlier in the campaign.

A big miss for Middlesex this week are Nick Gubbins and Tom Helm who are away with the England Lions, having been called up for the forthcoming tri-series with India-A and the West Indies-A.

Eoin Morgan is also absent, captaining England in their One-Day Series against Australia, whilst Ollie Rayner, who has played in all five Championship matches this term will miss out, as he will be representing Hampshire against Yorkshire whilst on a short-term loan at the Ageas Bowl.

Coming in to replace Rayner is left-arm spinner Ravi Patel, who has bowled himself into the box seat ahead of Rayner, having performed well throughout Middlesex’s fifty-over campaign.

Middlesex will have to be at their best against Leicestershire, who, under the new coaching directive of Paul Nixon, have secured wins in two of their opening five matches, and have only been beaten once thus far this term. Quality additions like Michael Carberry, have given the Leicestershire side a new look this year, and they’ll provide a stern test for Middlesex this week.

Thirteen-man Middlesex squad is as follows…

Dawid Malan (captain)

Tom Barber

Hilton Cartwright

Stephen Eskinazi

Steven Finn

James Harris

Max Holden

Tim Murtagh

Ravi Patel

Sam Robson

George Scott

John Simpson (wicket-keeper)

Paul Stirling

Share this post

Related fixture

Wed 20 June
Specsavers County Championship Division Two
Fischer County Ground, Grace Road
Start Time: 11:00
Duration: 4 days

Leicestershire Leicestershire
Middlesex Middlesex

Middlesex won by 1 wicket