Choose Language arrow_drop_down
Alt text here



Middlesex Cricket are delighted today to announce the recreational Women’s League fixtures for 2021, as well as unveiling a name change for the competition, which will now be known as the Esme Irwin League, to commemorate one of Middlesex’s greatest female cricketers.

The league will have a mixed format, with both 20-over and 40-over matches taking place. The season will begin in May, with the six teams in two groups, playing two T20 matches each in a bid to progress to the June final.

Harrow St Mary’s won last year’s shortened T20 title and will kick off their season with a repeat of September’s showdown against Actonians, with Ealing completing Group A. Group B comprises Hampstead, Finchley Gunns and North London.

The 40 over league will start on the 13th of June, with all six teams playing each other twice throughout June, July and August. You will be able to follow all the results on each club’s Women and Girls social media accounts, as well as a regular weekly round-up of the action on the Middlesex Participation Twitter throughout the season.

Middlesex Participation Manager Sharon Eyers said:

We are still very positive that we will be able to host the Esme Irwin League in its current format this year after last year’s disappointment when the Regional League and our own top league were cancelled due to Covid-19.

"We are all looking forward to the fixtures starting and to see who will represent Middlesex in the Regional Play-offs for a spot in the Women’s Cricket Southern League Championship Division, where we already have Ickenham CC and Hampstead CC, plus Finchley CC in the Premier Division.

Share this post